This website was archived in 2016, when the Governors’ South Atlantic Alliance formally ended. It is no longer being updated.

About Us

On October 19, 2009, the Governors of North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia and Florida signed the Governors’ South Atlantic Alliance Partnership Agreement establishing a regional collaboration to sustain the environmental, natural resource, economic, public safety, social and national defense missions of the respective states and the South Atlantic region. The Alliance is led by the four states in partnership with three federal co-lead agencies:

south-carolina copy
State_of_Georgia copy
fl_seal copy

 The Alliance also partners with other federal agencies, academia, non-profits, private industry, regional organizations, and others. The Alliance supports both national and state-level ocean and coastal policy by coordinating federal, state and local entities to ensure the sustainability of the region’s economic, cultural, and natural resources.

The Alliance has organized itself around the founding principles outlined in the GSAA Terms of Reference and detailed in the GSAA Business Plan.